The University of Massachusetts Amherst
University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance



A so-called breathalyzer-like test for COVID-19 detection is receiving plenty of support from the federal government to help curtail the pandemic impacting millions of people worldwide. Professor Jonathan P. Rothstein of the UMass Mechanical and Industrial Engineering Department is part of an interdisciplinary team of eight researchers from UCLA, UMass Amherst, and Northeastern University (NEU) that recently received a $200,000 grant from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) to support work aimed at commercializing the team’s groundbreaking collection and detection device for COVID-19 and other viruses.

Erin Baker – a professor in the Mechanical and Industrial Engineering Department, the associate dean for the College of Engineering, the director of the UMass Wind Energy Fellows, and the faculty director of the Energy Transition Initiative – is one of five researchers from UMass Amherst who, as a team, have been selected to receive a one-year, $100,000 grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF) “10 Big Ideas for Future NSF Investments” program.

The College of Engineering recently held a highly productive Community Engagement Panel, composed of four engineering students, as one of its continuing initiatives “to promote racial and social justice in engineering, particularly in the context of the Black Lives Matter movement,” according to Engineering Engagement Specialist Dr. Stephen Fernandez of the College of Engineering. The panel considered a wide-ranging agenda for promoting “Justice Engineering,” or action-based steps to evolve the culture of engineering. 

Watch a video of the Community Engagement Panel »

Government funding and support for clean energy technology give startup companies in that field an “innovation advantage,” according to a new paper and a policy brief published by lead author Anna Goldstein, a senior research fellow in the Mechanical and Industrial Engineering Department and director of the UMass Energy Transition Initiative.