The University of Massachusetts Amherst
University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance



Henry Mulvey, a first-year graduate student in the dual Master of Regional Planning and Master of Science in Civil Engineering (Transportation) degree program, was part of a recent graduate course that worked closely with the Pioneer Valley Transit Authority (PVTA), the largest regional transit authority in Massachusetts. 

The College of Engineering has established the William W. Boyer Endowed Professorship in the Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE) Department, a distinguished position created to attract or retain outstanding faculty members to CEE. 

College of Engineering seniors Jasmine Bogle, Alanna Joachim, and Raveena Dookhan, will be honored with distinguished awards during Undergraduate Commencement. 

Three UMass College of Engineering students are receiving coveted Graduate Research Fellowships from the National Science Foundation (NSF). 

Professor Shelly Peyton of the Chemical Engineering (ChE) Department has received one of the UMass Amherst 2022-2023 Samuel F. Conti Faculty Fellowship Awards. 

Associate Professor Yu Chen of the Biomedical Engineering (BME) Department is a member of two research teams that each received a $50,000 pilot grant from the UMass Center for Clinical and Translational Science (UMCCTS). 

What if you could create a wearable vest that uses the human body's natural heat loss in cold temperatures to passively generate electricity? UPow3r, a team of four mechanical engineering undergraduate students, did just that for their senior capstone design project. 

The research role of a UMass team in FlyNet, a multi-institutional effort funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF) and led by Principal Investigator Michael Zink of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, was recently highlighted by the Renaissance Computing Institute (RENCI) from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

The College of Engineering has selected Colby Norwood as the winner of the 2022 Dean’s Outstanding Service Award and Jodi Ozdarski as the recipient of the 2022 Dean’s Outstanding Student Support Award. 

Sanjay R. Arwade, a CEE professor and Associate Director of the Wind Energy Center at UMass Amherst, was quoted as an expert on the construction of support structures for offshore wind turbines in an article in a fall edition of Eos, the online magazine of the American Geophysical Union.