The University of Massachusetts Amherst
University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance



The Associated General Contractors of America (AGC) national organization has announced that the AGC Student Chapter at UMass Amherst has earned the Outstanding Emerging Student Chapter Award. 

Electrical and computer engineering postdoctoral researcher Andrew McClung is one of several researchers who have created a gear-shaped photonic crystal microring that increases the strength of light-matter interactions without sacrificing optical quality. 

In December, the Mechanical and Industrial Engineering (MIE) Department held its annual Fall Design Showcase, a competition among 18 inventive student teams working diligently to develop a wide range of topical innovations. 

Sarah Perry and Shelly Peyton, both of chemical engineering, are co-principal investigators of a UMass research team that will spend the next three years developing a process that can deliver the quantity and quality of messenger RNA (mRNA) demanded by a new class of medicines.

Emily Hennessy, a transportation engineering PhD student in the Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE) Department, has been awarded her second Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship from the U.S. Department of Transportation. Hennessy will receive $10,000 from the program to support her research on “Assessing Equity through Accessibility” in pedestrian walkways.

Sandip Kundu is head of an international team of collaborators whose paper on analyzing fake news classification has been accepted for publication by the 16th Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers International Conference on Semantic Computing (IEEE ICSC).

A new summer undergraduate research experience at UMass Amherst will give ten undergraduate students training in how to create advanced materials and how to use these materials to tackle crucial challenges in biology.

S. Thai Thayumanavan, Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, has been named head of the Biomedical Engineering Department (BME) in the College of Engineering. 


Rebecca Louisthelmy, an undergraduate in the Biomedical Engineering (BME) Department, was one of two College of Engineering undergraduate students chosen as “Rising Researchers” for the fall of 2021.

Graduate students and postdocs are invited to the virtual event "Working in a National Lab: A Good Fit for You?" on Thursday, January 13, at noon ET. The event features four Umass Amherst alumni with disciplinary expertise in electrical engineering, mechanical engineering, engineering management, microbiology, and plant biology.