University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance


Points of Pride

During the last two weekends in January, College of Engineering faculty and students were involved in two separate workshops that used exciting, educational, and entertaining projects to inform Girls Scouts about the rudiments of chemistry, electronics, and engineering. Some of the products included the gooiest substance since the Ghostbusters got slimed and jewelry that lights up like fireflies on an August night.

Over the weekend of January 23 and 24, Sarah Perry of the Chemical Engineering Department collaborated with Anne Gershenson of the Department of Biochemistry and...

Sarah Perry

Sarah Perry

Assistant Professor Sarah Perry and Professor William Curtis Conner of the UMass Amherst Chemical Engineering Department have each been awarded individual grants from the American Chemical Society Petroleum Research Fund (ACS PRF). Perry received a two-year, $110,000 ACS PRF Doctoral New Investigator grant for a research project entitled "Designing the Liquid-to-Solid Transition in Polyelectrolyte Complexes.” Meanwhile, Conner was awarded a...

Jianhua Joshua Yang

Joshua Yang

One major thrust of Jianhua Joshua Yang’s research in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department is creating new kinds of memristor devices that, among other uses, can take humans into the so-called “last frontier” of computing: a computer that works like the human brain. No wonder that during his first year as a professor at the University of Massachusetts Amherst, Yang has been awarded three impressive research grants totaling nearly $1.5 million.

The three grants include: $1,095,144 for phase I (an extra $500,000 is pending for phase II) from the Air Force Research...

The Rising Researcher Award, sponsored by the Vice Chancellor for University Relations and Research and Engagement, recognizes exceptional UMass Amherst undergraduate students who excel in research, scholarship, or creative activity. The College of Engineering congratulates our six academic year recipients: seniors Michael Ng and Gregory Forbes of the Mechanical and Industrial Engineering (MIE) Department; seniors Gabriela Calinao Correa and Zachary Goodman of the Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) Department; and junior Natalie Mako and senior Thomas McCarthy of the Chemical...