The University of Massachusetts Amherst
University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance


Dean's Advisory Council


The Dean's Advisory Council is comprised of accomplished alumni and friends from industry, government, and academia who are dedicated to excellence in engineering education, research and innovation and share a commitment to building strategic academic-industry partnerships. Its members serve as ambassadors for UMass Engineering and provide invaluable insight, contacts, and support to help the Dean set priorities and garner the necessary resources to move the College forward. The council meets biannually, in the spring and fall.


Kokui Adesokan

Kokui Adesokan ’09 ChE
Associate Director, CIPT Leader, GTF Program, Pratt & Whitney

John Armstrong ’03 Hon
Vice President for Science and Technology (retired), IBM

Rena Bizios ’68 ChE
Lutcher Brown Endowed Chair
Prof. of Biomedical Engineering, University of Texas at San Antonio

Ruth Bonsignore ’83 CEE
Founder, Flink Consulting, LLC

Julie DelVecchio Savage ’79, ’85MS, ’90PhD IE/OR
Director, National Security Engineering Center, The MITRE Corporation

Stephen Gordon ’89MS ECE
Founder, CTO, Vice President of Engineering (retired), Immedia Semiconductor

Robert Gorman ’63 ME*
Co-founder & CEO (retired), Applied Physical Sciences, Inc.

Gillian Gregory ’82MS, ’86PhD CEE
Vice President, GEI Consultants, Inc.

Divi Gupta

Divi Gupta ’00, ’06MS ECE
Vice President & General Mgr.
Ultrasonic Fingerprint Business Unit, TDK USA Corporation

Marshall Jones ’72MS, ’74PhD ME
Principal Engineer (retired), GE Global Research

Barun Kar ’95PhD ECE
Senior Vice President of Engineering, Palo Alto Networks

Barun Kar ’95PhD ECE
Senior Vice President of Engineering, Palo Alto Networks

Kelly Kennedy ’15 ECE**
Specialist, Aftermarket Strategy and Analytics, Collins Aerospace

Renee Harbers Liddell ’85 IE
Founder and CEO, Harbers Family Foundation

Kenneth Lloyd ’73 MIE
Vice President of Manufacturing (retired), Electro Switch Business Trust

Adam Miller ’93 CEE
Owner, Summit Design + Build, LLC

Edward Price

Edward Price ’90 ChE
Founder & Chief Executive Officer, PCI Synthesis

Jonathan Roskill ’85 EE
CEO, Acumatica, Inc.

Akshaya Shanmugam ’12 MS, ’15 PhD ECE
Sr. Clinical Development Engineer, Intuitive

Tamara Sobers ’12MS, ’17PhD ECE
Wireless Communications Engineer and Group Leader, The MITRE Corporation

Edwin (Ned) Thomas ’69 ME
Council Chair
Erle Nye ’59 Chair II & Hagler Institute Fellow, College of Engineering, Texas A&M University


*= retired from board in 2021
**= Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion subcommittee only