The University of Massachusetts Amherst
University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance



Shelly Peyton served as co-chair for the Biomedical Engineering Society annual conference, where the BME department also hosted its first booth. 

Biomedical Engineering major Sophia Chang was recently interviewed about the UMass Amherst section of the Society of Women Engineers (SWE) for the SWE national website.  

The University of Massachusetts Amherst’s Institute for Applied Life Sciences (IALS) has announced that six campus research teams have been named recipients of the 3rd annual Manning/IALS Innovation Awards. 

Sergio F. Breña of the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department and Cathal Kearney from the Biomedical Engineering Department were among 24 STRIDE Faculty Fellows announced as part of the 2021 STRIDE Faculty Fellowship Program. 


Apoorva Hungund, a doctoral student in the Mechanical and Industrial Engineering (MIE) Department, has received the annual $20,000 H. Clay Gabler Scholar’s Award from the Association for Advancement of Automotive Medicine (AAAM).


The American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) recently recognized three undergraduate students from the Chemical Engineering Department for their academic accomplishments and involvement in the field.


“Energy Justice: Who Gets Listened to?” was the topic of a powerful TEDx talk by Erin Baker, a professor in the Mechanical and Industrial Engineering Department and faculty director of the Energy Transition Initiative.

In the first Tech Challenge, held online on November 3, UMass student and alum ideators presented their technology/invention-based idea or prototype to a panel of judges for advice and competed for a prize pool of $15,000.

Assistant Professor Xian Du has obtained an $810,000 grant from the Aramco Services Company (ASC) to support the development of a novel sensing technology for strain-condition monitoring of critical oil-pump equipment. 


Sarah Perry, associate professor in the Chemical Engineering Department, is part of a multi-institutional team that has been awarded a National Science Foundation (NSF) grant totaling $1.8 million for a project that could improve the stability of future vaccines.