The University of Massachusetts Amherst
University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance



The American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) has elected Erin Baker, a professor in the Mechanical and Industrial Engineering (MIE) Department and an asociate dean in the College of Engineering, as one of the three newly elected members of the Engineering Research Council (ERC) Executive Board.

A team of academic and industry experts, including The Center for Collaborative Adaptive Sensing of the Atmosphere (CASA) in the College of Engineering, is collaborating with the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) on a project aimed at controlling low-flying manned and unmanned aircraft over cities in the U.S. in the next decade.

Jun Yao, an assistant professor in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department and an adjunct professor in the Biomedical Engineering Department, is the principal investigator for the interdisciplinary team of researchers who received the 2020 Armstrong Fund for Science Award from UMass Amherst.

Liquid meltwater can sometimes flow deep below the Greenland Ice Sheet in winter, not just in the summer, according to work published on April 9 in the American Geophysical Union journal Geophysical Research Letters by Dr. Colin J. Gleason of the UMass Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE) Department and his colleague Dr. Lincoln Pitcher at the University of Colorado Boulder.

Associate Professor Joseph Bardin of the Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) Department has been selected to receive the 2020 Outstanding Young Engineer Award (see link here) from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S).

Tejas Panambur, an M.S. candidate in the UMass Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) Department, was part of a multi-institutional team of students who took one of four first-place prizes during the COVID-19 IDEAthon Beat the Pandemic event as part of the continuing MIT COVID-19 challenge.

Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering Peter Beltramo has been selected as a University of Massachusetts Amherst Lilly Teaching Fellow for the 2020-21 academic year. Eight Fellows are selected for the program each year from departments across the campus. The Lilly Teaching Fellowship provides early-career faculty with an opportunity to enhance and refine their teaching abilities both inside and outside the classroom.

Four College of Engineering graduate students, two from the Mechanical and Industrial Engineering (MIE) Department and two from the Chemical Engineering (ChE) Department, have been awarded prestigious fellowships from the National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP). The MIE fellowship recipients are Bridget Benner and Jacob Davis, while the ChE recipients are Becca Huber and Stephanie Call.


Michael A. Henson has been appointed interim head of the Department of Chemical Engineering, effective May 24. He will replace current head, John Klier, who is stepping down to transition into the role of dean of the Gallogly College of Engineering at the University of Oklahoma.


Amity Lee, office manager & assistant to the department head in chemical engineering, is the recipient of this year’s Dean’s Service Award.